God, I love Canada

Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 3.35.54 PMFor the first year or so that “Losering” was out, checking my sales ranking on Amazon was a daily (oh, who am I kidding, several times a day, at least) ritual, even though it’s a bad idea. I was finally able to wean myself off of it after the book dropped to ranking consistently below No. 100,000, and I rarely check it anymore. It’s as humblingly low as ever here in the U.S. (yes, I just looked); but today, on a whim, I decided to check it on Amazon Canada for the first time in a while. Lo and behold and lookee here, for whatever reason it’s somehow back up to No. 1 again on the country book list up there, ahead of tomes about Buck Owens, George Jones, Gram Parsons and Loretta Lynn.

As Jim Lauderdale might say, now that’s Americana!


Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 3.21.10 PM


 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “God, I love Canada

  1. Brian stere

    David
    I’m proud to say I am one of those Canucks who bought your book and I am fascinated by it. I’ve read it twice and am halfway through my third pass….all in the last month. I have been obsessed with DRA after stumbling across the alt country movement two years ago via a son volt song on Sirius satellite coffee house. I’ve never looked back.
    I’m going to my first Ryan Adams show tomorrow night at Massey hall in Toronto. I wish I could have witnessed some of those whiskey town shows you talk about in your book but I’ll take what I can get.
    I don’t agree with everything you write about Ryan’s music (I like hallowe’en head and walkadeypants) but you hit the nail on the head for me most of the time.
    I’ll be reading everything you write about him.
    Here’s hoping we hear more like Jacksonville/I keep running.
    Cheers
    Brian

    • dmenconi

      Well, golly! Thanks very much for the kind words, Brian — I’m really glad you liked it. Hope you like your first taste of the live DRA experience, please do let me know how it goes. Maybe he’ll break out Jacksonville! 🙂

      Cheers,
      dm

  2. Pingback: God Save The Queen | LoseringBook

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

