Like Yesterday: Good morning, Afghanistan

This is the time of year when homesickness might start feeling particularly acute, especially for people on duty overseas. So it is that this fun little video based on Ryan Adams’ Cardinology song “Like Yesterday” turned up on the Ryan Adams Superfan page Wednesday morning. The accompanying note thanked Ryan “for making deployments a little bit more bearable” with his music:

I’m currently on my 2nd tour in Afghanistan and your music still helps me to “feel”…This was a goofy video I made from my first tour..I would request you to play a free show here, but I rather you be safe and continue to make amazing music for us! I cannot wait to see you play live someday when I return to the states.

-Staying Weird.

..One of your many fans,

-Britt

It’s the sweetest video tribute to Ryan I’ve seen since the “Wish You Were Here” travelogue from back in January. In this one, the gal with the broom is Brittany Caruso, an Air Force Sergeant currently stationed in Afghanistan. I got in touch to ask a little about herself, and here’s what she wrote back:

BCaruso

Brittany Caruso, reporting from Afghanistan.

I’m 25 years old and I’m originally from Napa California. I joined the military when I was 17 and I’ve been exploring and learning about life since then..I’ve been on 3 deployments and am currently serving my second tour in Bagram, Afghanisfan..My home station is Eglin AFB, Flordia..Music is my outlet, and mantra..When I’m not listening to music I am playing it- I’ve been playing drums for a little over 8 years now..Ryan Adams music has greatly inspired after the first album I bought years ago – “Easy Tiger” ..the songs “Rip Off” and “Two” have accompanied through some very challenging times and milestones of my life..With saying that, I would have to say “Easy Tiger” is my favorite album and a footprint of my growth in adulthood.

Ryan really does have some great, great fans out there.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Like Yesterday: Good morning, Afghanistan

  1. jennine farace

    i want to sincerly thank Ryan for helping give my daughter Brittany Caruso some really meaninful lyrics to rock on with and put some sunshine in her beautiful soul.We all need to remember our soldiers are still out there giving us our freedom so we can live our life any way we chose …no boundaries and endless choices .she is a true musician with amazing abilities and im so glad she has great taste in music !!! Thank you for posting her video ,she keeps her humor even when shes in a tough place to be during the holidays so far from home, Peace ,Love and Joy to all

  2. Nancy Atwood

    This was a pleasant surprise to find on FB today! Your friends and family are always withyou, walking beside you even when you can’t see them. Keep on truckin’ honey See You Soon:) xxxoxoxo

  3. Pingback: For the troops | LoseringBook

  4. Pingback: Ryan Adams enters academia’s hallowed halls | Losering Books

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

